Review – The Exile by Diana Gabaldon

the exileThe Exile is my second graphic novel.  This is a must for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series and I’m glad I read it.

It is basically the first third or so of the story from Outlander but from Murtagh’s / Jamie’s perspective.  There is an additional storyline of another traveler who is working with Geilie but I almost felt that was an afterthought as it didn’t have a lot of impact.  We get to see Claire coming through the stones, her first meeting with Dougal and Jamie, Black Jack Randall, the wedding (and wedding night) and Claire’s decision to stay with Jamie rather than go back through the stones.

The script was fine but included too many “Jesus H. Roosevelt” from Claire and it did feel overdone in spots.  The drawings were not what I expected.  None of the characters were drawn as I pictured but that’s okay.  What I didn’t anticipate is that some of them seemed Disney-like.  Especially those of Claire during the wedding scene.  Plus, good Lord, they gave her some large ta-tas. What is interesting is that at the back of the book, they’ve included some of the original sketches and these were much more in line with what was in my head.  The sketch of Claire as an army nurse was spot on and captured her well.  I wish all of the artwork would have been more like this.  The story itself is gritty and rough in spots.  The artwork should reflect that.  Instead it softened the story.

3.5/5 stars.  Worth getting for your collection but cannot compare to the big books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s